How to Prepare for Your Appointments

Please print this page. The URL if you need to refer back is:
http://Colorado.writehisanswer.com/regack

Dear conferee –

I believe God has called you to this year’s CCWC – now known as the Write His Answer Conference since we’ve combined the Colorado and Greater Philly conference into one virtual conference this year. No matter whether you’re a beginning or professional writer or whether you write fiction or nonfiction, I expect God will encourage and equip you to “Write His Answer” in ways that will change lives for eternity!

The most important thing you can do to prepare for this year’s CCWC is to seek Him and His will for your writing. I especially want to encourage you to click here for a Bible study on Habakkuk 2:2, our theme verse. 

The charts of editorial needs and agent interests have been added to the website so appointments are now open. Click here for your appontment request form. Be sure to visit the three pages at Appointments for important need-to-know info. All appointment request forms must be submitted by May 2. For your appontments to be booked in the order that your registered, you need to submit your form by April 15. After that, Barbie will fill appointments in the order she receives them.


Be sure to visit https://colorado.writehisanswer.com/schedule for links to three FREE pre-conference learning opportunities that are open to everyone – not just to registered conferees. 


Pre-recorded Webinars 

Writing the Personal Experience Story – Marlene Bagnull
https://youtu.be/YlUUzQXPspI

Writing Articles – How to Hook ’Em from the Get-Go; Hold ’Em to the End – Marlene Bagnull
https://youtu.be/SNqfLHvKx3o 


The Weight of the First Page – Linda Glaz

https://youtu.be/cZZwce3ohf4?
Learn to put POP! and action onto the first page of your work, in a manner that keeps a potential reader … well … reading.

Pitching to Industry Professionals – Linda Glaz
https://youtu.be/XwQZkOwtju4

Learn how to construct the much-needed Pitch.

Nonfiction One Sheet – Marlene Bagnull
https://youtu.be/RMCGbbq4BlQ 

Beyond explaining what needs to be included on your nonfiction one sheet and why, Marlene shares some of her journey to publication. Click here for sample nonfiction one sheet.

Fiction One Sheet – Darcie Gudger
https://youtu.be/Zl3GMbSUd6M

First impressions are everything. Like a resume for that dream job, your one sheet needs to leave a lasting impression on agents and editors who require them. Since expectations change like the weather, come learn how you can craft that unforgettable, colorful fiction one sheet. Click here for link to sample fiction one sheet.


Pre-conference Zoom Meetings

Brandstorming – Dick Bruso 
Tuesday, April 19, 5:00 pm MT 
(7 ET, 6 CT, 4 PT)
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83678852496?pwd=K2xZMG1LRVJ5d2hPK1JoZVpOVTdDdz09
Meeting ID: 836 7885 2496
Passcode: 371941

Don’t miss out! Learn how to set yourself apart by attending Dick Bruso’s highly acclaimed story-based Brandstorming session for creating powerful, unique, and enduring brands in a very noisy marketplace. 

For well over two decades, Dick has presented his in-demand Brandstorming program all across North America. This year, it’s being offered virtually, at no additional cost, as a special bonus, via Zoom, to all registrants of the 2022 Colorado Christian Writers Conference.

During this dynamic interactive session, Dick will demonstrate (with the assistance of two randomly selected attendees) how you and your writer colleagues can develop brands based on your unique and powerful life stories. You’ll also learn the secret of how to apply the “umbrella branding” approach to encompass all aspects of your career as a professional writer while staying totally congruent with your desired target markets.

 

Developing a Great Nonfiction Pitch – Karen Whiting
Tuesday, April 26, 4:30 pm MT (6:30 ET, 5:30 CT, 3:30 PT)
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84220717603?pwd=ZHlHYzFMbngxQWNSei9LUnBqSmpZdz09
Meeting ID: 842 2071 7603
Passcode: 380753

Saturday, April 30, 12:30 pm MT (2:30 ET, 1:30 CT, 11:30 PT)
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84040547390?pwd=ZVZHSmxmSVorbFE3ZmpWL2t6RDdtZz09
Meeting ID: 840 4054 7390
Passcode: 105625

Make the best pitch to not only grab an editor’s attention to help get a contract but to start developing a marketing plan. Karen is the author of 27 traditionally published books. She will provide individual help to polish each person’s pitch. An effective pitch will, in 30 seconds:

Define the target audience
Share the book’s unique value (take-away) that reveals the big concept
Share the features/stye
Include an memorable and engaging title

 

Practice Your Fiction Pitch – Gayle Roper
https://zoom.us 
April 30, 11:00 am MT (1 pm ET, noon CT, 10 am PT)  Meeting I.D. 534 667 3098  passcode - 1WaRJZ  

April 30 at 1:00 pm MT (3 pm ET, 2 pm CT, noon PT)  Meeting I.D.  534 667 3098  passcode - 1WaRJZ  

So you only have a few minutes tops. What do you say to catch the ear of an editor, an agent--anybody? Let's work together on your pitch. Let's get the best first sentence you can devise, the best story arc you can present in the fewest words. If ever there's a time you need to prepare, it's now so you sound professional and your story sounds irresistible. Important: Bring a 50 word summary and the first line of your pitch.

 

Connect at the Conference – DeeDee Lake
Monday, May 2, 6:30 pm MT (8:30 ET, 7:30 CT, 5:30 PT)
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86878142257?pwd=V25COTFJaVk4T2E5c3owWVdFUE1sdz09
Meeting ID: 868 7814 2257
Passcode: 858003

DeeDee is an expert in connecting and relationships. Raised as a military brat and an Army wife, she has lived in 50 houses. She knows how to relate! Connecting is one of the best aspects of a conference. Don’t know how to relate? Come to this Zoom workshop to know how to make the best impression, schedule and attend appointments, to have realistic expectations, and the dos and don’ts of following up after the conference. The literary business is a relational business. Let’s talk about creating relationships.
 

Navigating the Conference and Hour of Encouragement
Sunday, May 8, 6:00 pm MT (8 ET, 7 CT, 5 PT) 

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89177775509?pwd=V2ppMFpmTU9peFZCTGlmOW5iUkRhUT09

Meeting ID: 891 7777 5509
Passcode: 726774


Sell Your Book at the Conference

See https://colorado.writehisanswer.com/sellyourbook


Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions. You can reach me by email at mbagnull@aol.com or by phone 484-991-8581. 

Father, thank You for the freedom we have to “write Your answer.” Please help us to make the most of the opportunities You give us. Use this year’s CCWC to draw us all closer to You and to equip us to serve You more effectively. Give us Your vision for our writing ministry and encourage us to believe that You will use us to make a difference through the words we write and the lives we live.

Joyfully serving Christ -

 


P.S. Be sure to regularly check your email for conference updates as well as the conference Facebook page and my blog.


Marlene   484-991-8581 (home)
267-436-2503  (cell) 
mbagnull@aol.com

 Registrar / Appointment Coordinator
Barb Haley – haleybarb@yahoo.com